Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The National Coal Resource Assessment (NCRA) team of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) has assessed the quantity and quality of coal beds and zones that could be mined during the next 20 years or more. Geologic, geochemical, and resource information was collected and compiled for the five major coal-producing regions of the United States: the Appalachian Basin, Illinois Basin, Northern Rocky Mountains and Great Plains, Colorado Plateau, and the Gulf of Mexico Coastal Plain, (Gulf Coast) (Figure 1). In particular, the NCRA assessed coal-quality information and characterized environmentally significant trace elements, such as arsenic and mercury, that are defined...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal